On Dec. 4, 2017, the Supreme Court issued an order allowing President Trump’s Proclamation on Travel Ban to go fully into effect. With certain exceptions, this ban places entry restriction on nationals of eight countries – Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. As previously reported, in September a U.S. District Judge in Hawaii blocked the Proclamation from taking effect, except for nationals of North Korea and Venezuela. On Nov. 13, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals temporarily put part of the lower court’s ruling on hold, allowing the Proclamation to take effect, but only for those individuals from the impacted countries who do not have bona fide ties to the United States.

The Supreme Court’s order allows for the Proclamation to go fully into effect while appeals will be heard in the lower courts. It should be noted that the Proclamation does not have an expiration date, unlike the Executive Orders from earlier in 2017 which banned nationals from certain predominantly Muslim countries. Greenberg Traurig will continue to monitor new developments.

For more information on the Travel Ban, click here.